Repost about “Halloween”


Good morning guys! I know I haven’t been blogging in a while but life has been excitingly busy, which I will get to that in another post.

This morning I would like to touch on the past holiday which is known as Halloween. I have strong feelings about this “holiday.” I am completely against it. I found this blog post that shares my thoughts and feelings exactly.

 

Re-posted – Colorado Christian News, October 1995, author’s name not published

The October 31st holiday that we today know as Halloween has strong roots in paganism and is closely connected with worship of the Enemy of this world, Satan. It is a holiday that generally glorifies the dark things of this world, rather than the light of Jesus Christ, The Truth.

Have you noticed how costumes and masks are getting generally more bloody, gory, and depraved each year? Unfortunately, the gruesome and grotesque and the occult are increasingly glorified in American society, not only on Halloween, but throughout the year in frequent horror movies and television programs.

My family does not celebrate it or participate in it. We do not believe that our children are “missing out,” and neither do they. Other days are used for costumes and parties. Happily, all of our children have accepted Jesus Christ as their personal Savior. We have found that Halloween provides an excellent time to remind our children that, as Christians, we are different, and not of this world (Heb. 11:13-16; 1 Pet. 2:11).

What about church “Harvest Festivals” held on October 31? Although we understand the rational and good intentions behind them, we don’t think they are the best approach. Our family tends to agree with the author of an article called “Are ‘Harvest Parties’ for Christians?” (written by a self-avowed former witch and now active Christian). Harvest parties on October 31 tend to assume that “our children need something to take the place of Halloween, since they won’t be participating in the secular and pagan celebrations. It suggests our kids are missing out on something. And indeed they are, if we allow them to spend Halloween in celebration.” There are better things to do on Halloween than partying.

Also, we need to teach our children that “the fight isn’t against occultists, non-Christians, Christians who feel differently than we about Halloween, or institutions that promote Halloween, but” “against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness” (Ephesians 6:12, NKJV).

Relevant Scriptures

1 Thessalonians 5:21-22—“Test everything. Hold on to the good. Avoid every kind of evil.”

Philippians 4:8—think about pure, lovely, noble things

James 1:27—“keep oneself from being polluted by the world”

3 John 1:11—“do not imitate what is evil”

Romans 12:9—“abhor what is evil. Cling to what is good.”

Deuteronomy 18:9-14—do not learn to imitate detestable ways, including spiritists, sorcerers and witchcraft

Ephesians 5:11-12—“Have nothing to do with the fruitless deeds of darkness” / “live as children of light

1 Timothy 4:1—don’t ”follow deceiving spirits and things taught by demons

2 Corinthians 6:14-17—“what fellowship can light have with darkness?”

1 Corinthians 11:1—“follow the example of Christ

1 Corinthians 10:31—“whatever you do, do everything for the glory of God”

James 4:7-8—submit yourselves to God, resist the devil, purify your hearts

Ezekiel 44:23—“…teach my people… to distinguish between the unclean and the clean.”

Proverbs 22:6—“train a child in the way he should go”

Matthew 18:6—“if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin…”

Hosea 4:6—“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.”

John 3:19-20fallen man loves darkness instead of light

Romans 13:12—“put aside the deeds of darkness and put on the armor of light.”

Ephesians 6:11-18—“take your stand against the devil’s schemes.”

2 Chronicles 7:14humble ourselves, pray, seek God’s face, and turn away from wicked ways—and God will heal our land

Are October 31 “Harvest Parties” the best alternative for Christians?

“What are you doing for Halloween?” Ask a Christian parent this question, and be prepared to hear an answer like, “Nothing! We don’t celebrate Halloween.“ Thunder crashes, and you creep away, embarrassed for even asking.

“What are you doing ON Halloween?” Ask the same parent this slightly altered question, and their whole manner and response brightens. “Why,” they begin, as birds begin to sing and sunshine breaks through the cumulus clouds. “We’re all going to the Harvest Party at church!” A choir sings. A trumpet sounds. You feel privileged just knowing these saints.

Let’s take a look at the typical Harvest Party.

  • It is a celebration.
  • It is chaperoned (usually).
  • It may have costumes.
  • Games are played.
  • Contests are held.
  • Food abounds.
  • Music blares.
  • Everyone enjoys themselves.

Certainly, nothing to get concerned about, right? The problem, however, lies in the billing. The Harvest Party is usually referred to as the Christian alternative to traditional Halloween hijinx. Alternative, however, implies substitute. It assumes our children need something to take the place of Halloween, since they won’t be participating in the secular and pagan celebrations. It suggests our kids are missing out on something. And indeed they are, if we allow them to spend Halloween in celebration.

If we are to train our children to be soldiers in the army of Christ, why would we sign a pass for them to go on leave when the battle is escalating on the front lines?

As a child of four, I contacted the first of many spirit guides (read: demons) while playing with a Kindergarten classmates’ ouija board at a chaperoned Halloween party. This spiritual assault ignited an intrigue with the supernatural that culminated in my lifestyle as a practicing witch: divination, necromancy, channeling, astrology, psychic ability, and spell working. It wasn’t until I was twenty that I met the real Jesus Christ, and was released from the trap that Satan had set for this young prisoner of war sixteen years earlier.

There are too many causalities on Halloween and far too few troops fighting the enemy. Instead of partying on Halloween, teach your children how to fight. Keep them aware that the fight isn’t against occultists, non-Christians, Christians who feel differently than we about Halloween, or institutions that promote Halloween, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers or darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places” (Ephesians 6:12).

How do we teach our children to wrestle spiritually?

  • Discourage them from participating in traditional Halloween activities (2 Timothy 2:4). Then tell them why.
  • Encourage them to pray on a regular, daily basis (Ephesians 6:18). Let them know first hand the power that we have in prayer. All Christians should know how to fight on their knees.
  • Remind them to be alert and self-controlled (1 Corinthians 16:13; 1 Thessalonians 5:6). Give them the discipline of knowing it is their responsibility to keep watch. They, themselves, might also become casualties in the war.
  • Make certain they are prepared for battle (Ephesians 6:11). Do they know the truth? Stand on the Word of God? Have faith? Know the gospel? Are they righteous? Are they saved?…

Instead of celebrating, what’s a Christian to do on Satan’s feast day? PRAY! Intercession and spiritual warfare should be the first item on our agenda. It is NOT a last resort!

  • Join with other families in the church. Have the pastor announce a night of spiritual battle. Organize a group of Christians parents and students from your children’s school or homeschool group. As a family, designate the seven nights before October 31 as Family Prayer Outreach nights.
  • Pray for protection. Pray over both those who engage in prayer warfare and over those who will be out trick-or-treating or at Halloween parties. October 31 is a prime recruiting time for witches and Satanists… and a time for interested kids to experiment. Pray that the Lord keeps our kids from falling prey to those who worship the enemy.
  • Pray for discernment. Let the Holy Spirit direct you to specific prayer requests. Pray that the children who are “out there” will somehow “know” to keep away from certain activities.
  • Pray that the Lord hinder the occult rituals. For four years, I lived in a building which over looked a cemetery where occult ceremonial markings were often found. On certain occult feast days, usually between midnight and 3 a.m., I would look down into the darkness and kneel at my window binding the demons that controlled the ceremonies. I’ll never know this side of heaven what effect my prayers had. Maybe a potential sacrifice escaped. Maybe the occultists weren’t successful in summoning their demon. Maybe a new, young recruit decided that this was not the lifestyle he thought he wanted.
  • Pray for the salvation of the occultists. Jesus Christ died for those whom Satan holds captive and deceived, for those who mock Him, who deny His deity or His existence. He doesn’t want them to perish, but to come to Him calling Him Father, Lord. Pray the veil is lifted from their eyes, the Lord allows them to see clearly their spiritual condition and their only hope lies in Jesus Christ. Pray also, about whether the Lord would have you take a more active role in bringing the gospel to Satan’s servants.
  • Let your children know that this is effective warfare. They must know their prayers are heard and acted on by our Father. Let them know they can make a difference. Come October 31, they’ll know they have a job to do.

     

    -originally published in the Colorado Christian News, October 1995, author’s name not published

11 thoughts on “Repost about “Halloween”

  1. I have listened. Jesus was called a drunkard, a glutton, and worst of a, a friend of sinners. None of these titles were by any means compliments. I choose to let my light shine wherever God places me. As far as Halloween goes,never did I dress up my kids when they were younger as demons or anything satanic, and the neighborhood in which we lived knew that we where Christians. We were never accused of having or living a double standard. Jesus was a friend of sinners and sinners were drawn to Him because of His love for them. Can you say the same thing for the church today? I had a dream a while ago that illustrates this. In the dream the church that I was looking at had big glass doors so that I could see inside. Inside the church there was a worship band playing and the people there were worshiping and had their hands raised. What was wrong is that the doors of the church had no handles. You had to be let in by someone on the inside, and, if you left, once again you had to be let in by someone on the inside. This is not how the church is supposed to be. I trust the Holy Spirit inside me to guide me and to keep my foot from slipping. If you feel that Halloween is evil as I once did then that is between you and God and not for me to judge. Where I am at is where God has me and for no one to judge.

    1. The religious people did call him those names. That’s where the religious churchs come into play. Religion of man says you have to walk this way or dress that way for them to accept you. Which is totally not the case. God is no respecter of persons. Jesus Christ was his example. He loves everyone and he gave them a guide to live there life by. We now have the Holy Spirit to comfort us and guide us. And some are so blinded by their religion that they can’t see the true love of God when it hits them.

      I think we are on the same page but at different levels, if that makes sense. Jesus was among them, healing them, teaching them, not acting with them.
      I truly respect your comments and am I in no way judging you. Actually, I thank you for conversing with me.

      1. Out of curiosity, I wanted to get your thoughts as to what you believe the following verses mean.

        For though I am free from all, yet I have made myself servant to all, so that I might gain the more. And to the Jews I became as a Jew, so that I might gain the Jews. To those who are under the Law, I became as under the Law, so that I might gain those who are under the Law. To those who are outside Law, I became as outside Law (not being outside law to God, but under the Law to Christ), so that I might gain those who are outside Law. To the weak I became as the weak, so that I might gain the weak. I am made all things to all men, so that I might by all means save some. And this I do for the sake of the gospel, so that I might be partaker of it with you.
        (1 Corinthians 9:19-23 MKJV)

      2. “Free from all” sticks out to me. As a born again believer, I am free from all the worlds traditions. But, I am still in the world, therefore I must stay under the authority of My Lord and not of the world. Does these scriptures give believers an “okay” to follow through with rituals from the world? Absolutely not. While on this physical earth we are to do one thing…Glorify God. Every moment of our life we should be teaching the Gospel of Christ. As, Sons of God we must teach the nations. If this means being among (not participating with) the Non-believers then so be it. And day to day we walk with Non-believers so day to day we should continue to Glorify God.

  2. While I used to feel STRONGLY as you do, i no longer feel this way. Jesus said the following to his disciples: “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves. Therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves. (Matthew 10:16 NIV). Sheep have no natural defense of any kind except the the shepherd who leads them. That is a frightening thought but also one that causes us to rely on the Lord for protection. in a dark and dangerous world. The church has adopted an isolationist mentality and is terrified of getting their hands dirty or their clothes soiled with the dirt of unbelievers. “But you, dear friends, by building yourselves up in your most holy faith and praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in God’s love as you wait for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ to bring you to eternal life. Be merciful to those who doubt; save others by snatching them from the fire; to others show mercy, mixed with fear–hating even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh”. By no means am I saying that I agree one iota with harvest parties because they too are a form of isolation from a hurting world. I believe that we need to drop the fear of being infected by the world and become the infection that infects the world for Christ via the Holy Spirit working through us. As for the fear of falling away, the word says the following ,”To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy”– (Jude 1:24 NIV)”You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world”. (1 John 4:4 NIV) We are to be in the world but not of it. And, I am by no means suggest that our kids dress up as ungodly things, however, I am suggesting that we trust the Holy Spirit in us and allow the light of Jesus to shine through us and our kids to a fallen and hurting world and not to hide the light under a bushel. We need to “infect” this world for Christ and not retreat into the four walls of a church. Yes there are giants in the land, but we are able.

    1. And I completely agree with you about “infecting” the world with Christ but I do not agree that we should follow along with the ones who have lack of knowledge. It is our job to disciple these ones who lack, not to do the same rituals they do and think that is what “Jesus” wanted us to do. We are to get out in the world and let Christ shine through us. We are to be IN the world but not OF the world. The Holy Spirit was given on the day of Pentecost to bring comfort and to be our guide. He is the ones who save those, not us. We aren’t trying to get people “saved”, we are allowing the Holy Spirit to guide us in all areas of our life and by that, the world we see His great light.

      There is no need for the true believers to be scared over the powers of the darkness. If you truly know who you are IN Christ, then you know that He has given you dominion over those things and you have the power to bind and loose. You have the power to put Satan under your feet because you are the head and not the tail.

      1. How do you begin to disciple if you are not willing to be among them. Jesus met people where they were. He didn’t ask them to clean up and then He would accept them. He died for us while we were yet sinners. It is God’s goodness that leads one to repentance. The darker the place, the brighter the light. I can remember a vision I had a little while ago. All around me it was pitch black. You couldn’t see your hand in front of your face. Then I saw myself holding a single solitary candle, and with the light of that candle, I was able to see faces of people I would not have otherwise seen. Yes Halloween has become an evil Holiday but we are commanded to overcome evil with good. Christmas was originally the feast of Saturnalia, a pagan God from what I understand. We celebrate Christmas. I will not retreat into my safe place while the world goes to hell.

      2. Being among them and following their same rituals is two totally different things. Teaching your small kids that this is okay, is not what we should be doing. We are suppose to be different from the world and the worldly systems. How can one overcome evil with good when you are participating in the same evil pagan rituals? Its not possible unless you are a double minded man. It is either dark or light.

        If the world goes to hell, I will retreat to my safe place under the wings of The Almighty. It is a spiritual battle and he will fight it for me, through the Holy Spirit. Once again, I am IN the world and not OF it. And if you truly allow the Holy Spirit to lead you and guide you in ALL areas of your life, He will tell you what to do and when to do it, if you just listen.

  3. This is a wonderful article! While the festivities of celebrating Halloween were going on yesterday, I continued to wonder why people get so caught up in this “holiday” and allow their children to participate whether a Christian or not simply because this world shows more and more evil over time.

    If I have to check my child’s candy bag in hopes that no one poisoned them or put anything harmful in between, it’s not worth it anyway. Call me an overprotective parent and I’ll say that I surely am!

    My family and I do not celebrate or participate as well. My kids are not missing out on nothing and I have assured them no matter what their classmates have said over the years. I know I’m rambling at this point but I just want to thank for for sharing this once again because I have wondered myself why do churches have “substitute” parties. This world and that particular day of events really need soldiers of The Lord praying 24/7. So much is at risk.

    God bless you!

    Terra

    1. Thank you! You were definitely not ranting. It is nice to have someone agree with you because so many people around me disagree. Which I do not care, I just pray for them. There eyes are blinded by traditions of man..it’s sad really.

      It’s time to break those traditions and it is starting with my kids. Thank you Father for giving me the Revelation!

      Blessings upon Blessings to you Terra.

Leave a Reply

