DIY Laundry Soap *A Must on my list!*


I love saving money! I don’t know about ya’ll but I also love a great laundry soap. I would vary between the two main brands of laundry soap. There prices ranging between $15.00 to $19.00. As much as I wash clothes, I was buying one every two weeks. I was paying around $390.00 a year on laundry soap. Whoa! Recently Pinterest has opened my eyes to saving money and dressing fashionable, if i say so myself. πŸ˜‰ I found a money savvy mom blogging about homemade laundry soap. I have never heard of this before! Where have I been?!

Here we go!

Supplies:

  • 1 4 lb 12 oz box Borax (2.15 kg or 76 oz) found in the cleaning/detergent isle
  • 1 4 lb box Arm & Hammer Baking Soda (1.81 kg) found in the cleaning/detergent isle
  • 1Β  box Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda 55 oz (3 lb 7 oz) found in the cleaning/detergent isle (I totally forgot this and had to go back to the store and buy it! I even made a list! Goodness!)
  • 3 bars of Fels-naptha soap, found in the cleaning/detergent isle
  • 2 small containers of oxyclean or store brand oxyclean (try to get at least 3.5 lbs total (1.58 kg) I used 5lbs just because it was cheaper. A little more oxyclean never hurts) found in the cleaning/detergent isle.

Don’t forget this! -lol-

I found all these items at Walmart for under $21.00. I think the name brand oxyclean pushed me over the previous bloggers price.

How to steps: (we did all these steps outside)

  • Open all your boxes and pour the ingredients into a five gallon bucket. We used a bucket from Home Depot with a lid. Once sealed, it makes it easier to mix the ingredients.
  • Grate your Fels-naptha soap just like cheese and place it into the five gallon bucket.Β  (The Fels-naptha will dissolve in your washer even if you only use cold water like I do.)

My wonderful husband grated the soap for me!

I bought a plastic storage container for just a small amount to sit on my dryer so I don’t have a huge five gallon bucket sitting up there. Other than that, you are all done!

Use 1Tablespoon per load….yes I said ONE! But, just because, I use two…it makes me feel better!

9 months of laundry soap for around $25.00 dollars. Much better than $390.00 a year! (I added in the five gallon bucket price.) Smells like a winner to me!

**This is posted on the original blog.

  • -This detergent is safe for HE washers and should be added to the barrel instead of the dispencer.
  • Β -This detergent is safe to use on sensative skin. -It does not have a strong scent, you can add laundry crystals to the batch to add fragrance.
  • Some of my followers have used other bar soap instead of Zote or Fels-Naptha. I have personally not tried it but from the feed back I get it sounds like any bar will work.

Special thanks to “Being creative to keep my sanity” Blog! Check her blog out!

Happy Washing!

Lisa

15 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Soap *A Must on my list!*

  1. You say to use 3 bars of Fels-naptha soap, but I only see one bar in your pictures. I bought 3 packages of it, but wanted to make sure if there are 3 bars in one package, or do we actually use 3 packages. Before I make it, please let me know.

  2. Wondering if you couldn’t add Downy beads to your mixture? I always add them… makes our laundry smell incredible and lasts a long time too.

  3. We are getting ready to do this (even before I saw your post) but going to boil it in water and make it a liquid version. So much fun! Might add essential oils but I heard they don’t last thru the wash (bummer). I will let you know how it turns out but in general I have LOVED adding Borax to my regular wash – cheaper and just as effective as OxyClean. So glad to see others doing this. My husband’s research showed that we needed Borax, Washing Soda, and Fells Naptha too! Can’t wait… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

