Well, I’ll be….(In my southern belle voice)


Southerners have their own sayings and special meanings for words. Here are some of them:

Ain’t that the berries! (that is great!)

Caught with your pants down. (surprised and unprepared)

Do go on. (you must be joking)

Don’t let your mouth overload your tail. (talking too much)

Don’t bite off more than you can chew. (attempt what you can accomplish)

Go hog wild. (have a good time)

Go to bed with the chickens. (in bed early)

In high cotton. (rising up in society)

Every dog should have a few feas. (no one is perfect)

Like two peas in a pod. (act and think alike)

That takes the cake. (surprised)

Well, shut my mouth. (shocked and speechless)

AIRISH- cold

CHUNK- throw, toss

DIXIE- Southern States of the U.S.A

HOLD YOUR HORSES- (be patient)

MUCH OBLIGED- thank you; hope to return the favor

PIDDLE- waste time, doing nothing

RECKON- think or supose so.

SHINDIG- dance or celebration

SOUTHERN BELLE- Southern lady

SPRING CHICKEN- young thing

SWEET TALKING THING- has a good line

WORRY-WART- one who is annoying

YOSELF – yourself

CO’COLA – coca cola

11 thoughts on “Well, I’ll be….(In my southern belle voice)

  1. I wish I could think of something we say in Ontario that’s funny….but I think I’ve been out of the country too long. Well, in Belgium here they say ‘in fact’ a lot and before yes or no there will be a ‘may’ sounding word (like mais=but, but I don’t think they’re saying ‘but no’, but yes’, or maybe they are, lol). Of course it’s French so I don’t always pick things up. There is a stereotype that French people (from France) have about Belgians….I can’t remember what it is, but there’s something at the end of every phrase that Belgians ‘supposedly’ say. When it was translated in this movie we watched they used the word ‘waffle’. I think it was more to do with ‘Belgian waffles’ than that what they say sounds like ‘waffle’.

    Oh my…. off I’ve gone again.

  2. In the South you can get away with saying almost anything about someone, so long as you add, “Bless her/his heart!”

    “He really is as dumb as a box of rocks, but he can’t help it. Bless his heart!”

  3. Love these comments…Downeast Maine has their own speech also. It is fun to hear people from other areas (people “from away” :flatlanders”) speak. It’s darker than the inside of a pocket tonite…so be careful.☺.

Leave a Reply

