Mama’s losing it and a Songversation :-)


Writing Prompts? Where have I been? This is a fabulous idea!

While Blog Frog’in I came across this rather interesting Blog. Meet Mama Kat @  Mama’s Losing it!  She has put together a Writers Workshop and once a week she gives Writer prompts and you write about one of the topics she has posted and then you link it up to her blog.

What a GREAT way to blog about new and different stuff along with meeting new people. Plus, she is hilarious! That always is a plus!

Anywho, this week I choose …… Writing Prompt #3) Songversation. Take a current song that teens and tweens are listening to, share the lyrics, and offer a conversation that you might have with your child about the song. (inspired by Ooph)

“I just had to share this song! Like…seriously… read below.”

Willow Smith, “Whip My Hair

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

[Verse 1]
Hop up out the bed, turn my swag on
Pay no attention to them haters because we whip ’em off
And we ain’t doing nuttin’ wrong
So don’t tell me nothing, I’m just tryna have fun
So keep the party jumpin’

So whats up (yea)
And I’ll be doing what to do
We turn our back and whip our hair
And just shake them off
shake ’em off, shake ’em off, shake ’em off

[Pre-Chorus]
Don’t let haters keep me off my grind (grind)
Keep my heap up i know I’ll be fine (fine) (yea)
Fighting until I get there
When I’m down and I feel like giving up
I think again

[Chorus]
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (OK,OK,OK,OK just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (OK,OK,OK,OK)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

[Verse 2]
I’ma get more shine than a little bit
Soon as I hit the stage, applause I’m hearing it
Whether its black stars, black cars I’m feeling it
But can’t none of them whip it like I do
I, I gets it in hmmm yea I go hard
When they see me pull up, I whip it real hard
I whip it real hard,real hard, I whip it real hard

[Pre-Chorus]
Don’t let haters keep me off my grind (grind)
Keep my heap up i know I’ll be fine (fine)(yea)
Fighting until I get there
When I’m down and I feel like giving up
I think again

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (OK,OK,OK,OK just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (OK,OK,OK,OK)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

[Bridge]
All my ladies if you feel me
Go and do it, do it, whip your hair
Don’t matter if it’s long, short
Do it, do it, whip your hair

All my ladies if you feel me
Go and do it, do it, whip your hair
Don’t matter if it’s long, short
Do it, do it whip your hair (your hair, your hair)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth ( just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

I whip my hair back and forth
I whip my hair back and forth
I whip…

“What is the world coming too??! You listen to me, Do not ever “Whip anything back and forth!” Are you listening to the words coming out of my mouth?? I don’t care if she is 12 or 21, this girl is seriously going to break her neck! 73 TIMES she sings “I whip my hair back and forth” 73 TIMES! Why do you listen to this junk? Wait, I don’t want to hear your answer. Can you even talk after whipping your hair, that took you so long to grow? Poor thing was bald until you were 3! As for her little “haters”, who is that? Elmo and Oscar the Grouch? I mean really! Anyway, as for me and my house, there will be no whipping of anything unless it is your booty! Got it? Good. I love you Dear. Sweet Dreams 😀 “
8 thoughts on “Mama’s losing it and a Songversation :-)

  1. Ahahahahaahahhaha.
    I LOVE this song. It’s so fun. It makes me wanna get whiplash in the most fun sort of way.
    Ok. Here’s a little tidbit you may not know: I truly believe that Willow did this song as a young person’s version of the infamous “Dutty Wine” which sort of whips head (not hair) and booty at the same time. It was a wildly popular and sexy dance in the Caribbean just before “Whip My Hair” came out. It is also dangerous as you can see by searching “Dutty Wine Gone Wrong” or something like that on YouTube. You should look it up. You probably won’t understand the words though. Hahahaha.
    ALSO: Funny that you choose this song. Yesterday, the internet went crazy, saying that Will and Jada are separating. That’s probably would caused the earthquake b/c that’s pretty earth-shattering news.

Leave a Reply

