My “Laura Story” Story


As some of you may know, I attended Women of Faith this weekend with my church family. Women of Faith is a group of spiritual women who tell their stories and talk about God’s grace and love. Us, as women, love this sort of thing. (Some of us, I suppose) I love knowing that I am not alone in certain storms in my life. However, some stories will completely take you by surprise. These types of stories will make you take a step back in your own life and Thank God for everything and everybody. Coming to the realization that life can change in such an instant and you have no control over it. When I read or listen to people going through these storms, I love a little deeper, I hug a little tighter, I forgive quicker and most importantly I thank God for the blessings in my life.

Laura Story is a singer songwriter in Georgia. She wrote “Indescribable” which was Chris Tomlin’s #1 hit in 2004. Laura has earned two consecutive nominations for Female Vocalist of the Year. When Laura told her story at Women of Faith, everyone was in awe of how strong she is and how “well” she is coping. But, it wasn’t long after her getting on stage, she told us why she is doing great with the cards she has been dealt. She gives God all the glory for everything in her life. Her husband was hospitalized with a brain tumor in 2006. Five years later, they are still going strong in Christ. She explained that it is hard at time, of course, but she still has strong faith in Jesus Christ. The funny story she told at Women of Faith was as an effect of her husbands brain tumor, he has loss of memory at times. One time she said she walked into a room and he was so excited to see “Laura Story” then when he found out they were married he was astonished. -Complete BIO here-

Laura’s story was so profound. Before going to Women Of Faith, I have always read blogs about tragic losses in people’s lives. I really do not know why. Maybe it is because when people write about that, they completely pour there heart into it. I can totally feel the emotion in their words.

I really do not know where this blog is going today but I do know that this weekend I was opened up to what God has for me and my life. he wants me to write. Before leaving for Women of Faith, I was driving to meet the ladies at the church at 5:00am, I began to pray to My Father. I asked for wisdom and knowledge. I asked for him to show me what he is calling me to be.

Okay, I know I am in school to become a nurse, but that is my fleshly calling. I am talking about a spiritual calling. No, I did not just start writing. Even as a child I would write my parents if I had gotten in trouble at school. I would write my parents explaining why I made bad grades. I wrote my parents when I got pregnant with my first child and I was married! I actually left it in their mailbox. I love putting my emotions down on paper. I can fully get everything out. If I was talking to you about this, I know I would leave the best parts out or my mind would go blank in the middle of the story. That is another great reason I love to write. When I type, I let it all out. I do not hide behind this keyboard or pen. But in person, I might miss they key points that mean the most to me or that would really be a life changing thing for you to hear. I love to write. I love to write about stuff that matters me to. I guess you could say that I am not a B.S writer. Maybe all writers are like that.

God has told me to write.

After meeting Laura Story at the Women of Faith conference, I returned to my seat and began to cry. I felt the urge to write her a letter.

 “I know it was just another picture with another fan, but to me it was a baby step into being my own person, becoming myself. If you can be an inspiration in your darkest time, even though you don’t say that, but it’s one of those things where I could not even imagine standing before a crowd of thousands telling my story if it was your kind of story. I wouldn’t be able to cope. But, I know you had those dark days. After 5 years, you are strong and have given complete faith about the things around you. Thank you for that insight. Everything will be okay. Right now God is with us and he will always be with us. But, our emotions and feelings get in the way. In the end, past our emotions, God is with us, holding us in our storm.”
Re-reading this now, I really think I was writing to myself. The last 5 years have been rough for me. Maybe not in her kind of way, but it has been rough. Maybe this was God’s way of telling me that he was with me and he is with me, and he will always be with me.
He was with me when I was crying on my porch step, distraught from being abandoned. He was with me when I was laying in the cemetery grass weeping for Shane to just be with me. He was with me when I was at my lowest. He was with me when I was at my highest. He is and will always be with me!
I was weak. I was broken hearted. I was discouraged. But, NOT TODAY! Today I am encouraged. Today I am strengthened. Today I am Loved. Today I am strong!

Psalm 143:8-10
8 Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning,
for I am trusting you.
Show me where to walk,
for I give myself to you.
9 Rescue me from my enemies, Lord;
I run to you to hide me.
10 Teach me to do your will,
for you are my God.
May your gracious Spirit lead me forward
on a firm footing.

Tempest, Laura, and Myself

8 thoughts on “My “Laura Story” Story

  1. Writing has always help me sort things out; the good, the bad and sometimes…. the ugly. I write my letters to God when the storms of life seem so fierce. There is loss and much pain sometimes but I’ve found a closer walk with Jesus because of those times. I did not want them to come, I would hope there would be an easier way to “learn”, to grow, but yet if it were not for the great pain I would not have pressed in to our Heavenly Father as I did. The good does come out of hard times when we are turning to Him every step of the way. My steps were not always pleasant but as long as I devoted my time to seeking His answers I found healing of my broken heart. I found growth, I found peace… God is good, He’s very good!

    Thank you for sharing your mind and heart.
    God bless,
    Beth

  2. After you commented in my blog I had to come read yours and of course naturally looked for a Women of Faith tagged post! 🙂 I really loved reading your experience. That’s not a typo, I meant to say reading your experience, not reading “about” your experience. What I mean is that the way you wrote this really put me inside your heart and is beautiful! Your story about how her story touched you resonates with me so deeply. It was like that for me at my first Women of Faith when I heard Sheila Walsh and every year since then I have been moved in the same way by one or more of the speakers. God truly uses Women of Faith to touch His daughters deeply. I am always reminded in so many ways that I am His precious daughter, His princess, His precious child and that I am never alone. Thank you for sharing your heart.

    in Him,
    Tricia

    1. Oh goodness, Now I’m crying again. 🙂 I totally understand what your saying. Sheilah Walsh is an AMAZING speaker as well. When I got home, I was so inspired to do everything and anything I could to make a difference. It starts with a seed right? Well it is planted and he is watering it and feeding it well. I prayed today for me and my blog to be surrounded by good christian women who can inspire and encourage me along this path. Thank you Tricia. >>Big Cyber Hug<<

      Lisa

    1. Lisa this was inspiration to me . As I look Back I was in your place down on my Knee”s and God was there I was also abandoned My Heart Breaking in a thousand pieces and I could feel it At the time I did not think that God Could hear me . But, as time lingered on and me and your dad got back together . I seen the Break of day I noticed the sun shinning as God was saying thats enough I only put on you what you can bare.I learned alot out of this situation God never left me .

Leave a Reply

