“The thankful receiver bears a plentiful harvest.” William Blake


Spring passes and one remembers one’s innocence. Summer passes and one remembers one’s exuberance. Autumn passes and one remembers one’s reverence. Winter passes and one remembers one’s perseverance. Yoko Ono

It’s a hot and humid afternoon. The birds are chirping and the bunnies are playing at the far corner of the property. There is a graceful breeze blowing. “Ahhhh…Peace” Laying in my hammock is perfect for a long day. It’s not long because of some boring day job that I have, it’s long because it has been too hot to go outside until now. Earlier I took the kids swimming at my parents, which I quite enjoyed. But, my little boy was ready to come home. Now I know why. He had a 102 temperature. Giving him a dose of Childrens Ibuprofen did the trick. He seems fine now. He loves helping me water the garden and flowers. Every now and then he tries my patience and gives me a little squirt. He laughs so hard. After the 5th time, my patience is wore thin.

Walking to my garden every afternoon gives me great joy. Why you ask? Because I know it will have little surprises for me. It has already given us an abundance of squash and cucumbers. It has been such a blessing to us and those around us. We have been giving them away every chance we get.

Our patch of cantaloupe has decided it wants to completely take over our tomatoes plants. We had to pull them away from them. It was weaving itself up each tomato basket. We have small cantaloupes every where. It is so exciting. I have never planted cantaloupe. Maybe it is our soil, because they are exploding. I love it.

Our tomatoes are finally starting to turn red. We have had tomatoes for about 2 weeks now. Each plants stands about 5 foot tall. I love a good ripe fresh tomato! Yum!

Sweet corn is new for me also. Since we had to stake up the corn so the wind could no longer blow it over, it is starting to toss. The silk is so pink. The corn is about 5 foot tall also.ย  We should have corn ready in about 2 weeks.

Our 2 green bell pepper plants are doing awesome. We have one big bell pepper and a few small ones.

The banana pepper plants have exploded. Come to think of it, I haven’t ate one yet! I know…crazy huh? My hubby gets to them before I do. I like the big ones. I try to leave them on the plant as long as I can but he picks them before I can tell him that its MINE.

Cucumbers. Well let’s just say, we have them coming out of our ears!

I think the okra will be the last thing to harvest. it is definitely coming along, slowly but surely.

I wonder, Does gardening make you as happy as it does me??

 

The cantaloupe that is trying to take over.

 

The Cucumber Plants. It was two half rows. Now they have collided.

My beautiful green bell pepper.

The sweet corn. Isn’t it pretty?

And, last but not least, My one of many cantaloupes.

8 thoughts on ““The thankful receiver bears a plentiful harvest.” William Blake

  1. Hi there – love to see someone who loves their garden as much as i do. here is a little advice about pumpkins that might be helpful- allow your pumpkins to climb a tree – that way they dont spread all over the garden and also it prevents their base rotting while they are ripening, which is a common problem the pumpkins will safely dangle from the tree and drop off when they are ripe – ps just before that time put some cut grass under the tree so they have a soft landing.
    hope it helps.

  2. Wow, your garden is HUGE! I love it! I bet you never have to buy vegetables! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I also think it’s cute that your little boy likes to help you with the garden. People say it’s good for the soul to work in a garden!

    1. Haha! It’s not as big as I would like it. Next year I am going to grow green beans and potatoes because that is the only things we buy. So, next year we will only have to buy bread and meat. -lol- It is good for the soul but it is also good for the booty too! All the squatting and pulling. -rofl-

  3. I love your comments on your garden…and family. Your tiredness is understandable..there is a reason that women usually have children young…the older Moms don’t have as much energy ! (my theory and I’m sticking to it, for now…til I get a better one!)
    Until I had cataract surgery, gardening was one thing that totally escaped me…I couldn’t tell one plant from the other. As part of our divorce agreement, my hubby number two got to keep his garden in the back yard as he lives in elderly housing and can’t have one there. I enjoy the plants, taking photos and amazing at the markings, colorings and the taste of the fresh picked veggies. Of course, in Downeast Maine, our gardens are just starting for most plants. Flowers have made their sequence of appearances, but we don’t usually even plant until after the full moon in May unless it’s early, then after the full moon in June.
    Thank you for your photos…I enjoy seeing the photos of gardens in other places and how they compare to what Maine has.
    Enjoy the finds of the day…the treasures…that to me is the joy of life … seeing the cycles repeat themselves year after year.
    โ˜ฎ โ™ฅ.. Siggi in Downeast Maine

    1. Down here we start our gardens the first week of May. After the blackberry winter…or so it’s called. As for the kids, I totally agree with you! My Mom and my mother-in-law prove you to be right. They can only babysit one kid at a time. Which I totally get, but I’m the Mom, they have to live here ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thank you so much for stopping by. It really warms my heart!

Leave a Reply

