My Funeral Preparations


During my English class I read “The American Way of Death Revisited”, by Jessica Mitford. It got me to thinking about my funeral. After I had my first child, three computers ago, I had typed out my funeral. Every detail was taken care of. So, here I am, taking care of business…again.

No, I’m not some weirdo. I don’t dwell on death, I just have this controlling nature, I guess.

Some folks I talk to say “Your dead! Who cares?!” I care! I care about stuff that happened to me while I am alive so why can’t I care about what happens to me after I pass on.

So without further adieu…

  • If my organs can be donated to help someone live, go for it!
  • I request our local funeral home to take care of me
  • I want a dark cherry wood casket
  • During my funeral service, I do NOT want the preacher or pastor to try to make it a “Save your life, Change your life so you don’t burn in hell” type deal! It is about me and my life. Speak of the good things, play my favorite songs, have the closest people speak about me.
  • I don’t want people to send flowers. Especially the ones that die. I don’t get them now, I sure wouldn’t want them then. Give the money to my kids/grand-kids. However, I do want one of those large flower things that go on the casket (All white flowers and not carnations ~I hate carnations…cheap and cheesy~)
  • During my viewing, I want a slide show of all my photos through out the years. (Family, Friends, etc) Which reminds me, Someone else needs to start taking pictures in my family or there won’t be any of me -lol-
  • After my service, I do not want to waste a space in the ground somewhere, I want to be cremated and placed in a beautiful urn, one with many colors and my name engraved and I want my family to keep my remains. If my husband is still kicking, I want my remains to be buried with him.  -aka In his casket
  • Songs to be played during the service –
  • I want to wear my favorite dress, whatever it is at the time.
  • I want to wear my necklace, but then have it removed and given to my husband or children.
  • I want my makeup done just as I would do it.
  • I think it is extremely odd for my immediate family to stand at the front of the room and have to shake/hug everyone who comes to my viewing, but it is their free will.
  • I want my viewing to be two days, then have the funeral on the third day.
  • I want each one of my kids to get a Dove from my flower blanket on the casket and hang it on their Christmas tree every year.

I have some other crazy ideas about things that should or shouldn’t happen after my passing, but I’ll leave those with my husband.

I know this sounds extremely morbid, but this is called “blogging” so I had to get it out.

Plus, I have no intention of dying anytime soon, so don’t worry.

Do you ever think about planning your funeral?

7 thoughts on “My Funeral Preparations

  1. I like it! I think it’s really great that you have it all planned out! I need to review mine before I die… 😛

  2. I am a nurse and I know many people who started when they were young writing down the ideas of what they wanted/didn’t want and would review it periodically…adding/ subtracting…the most common thing that changed was the music or things to be read that they heard at a service/ or just read and kept in the file.
    It is important to have everything gathered in one place and where others know where it is.
    Some may think it is morbid…it is practical…if it’s not written down, how would anyone know. I plan to keep the changes because I think it would be an interesting piece of me to show how I’ve changed over the years.
    May you live a long and happy life. Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

  3. Hey! So you think about this stuff too!? Glad to know I’m not the only one. You really got into a lot of detail. I should make my own funeral playlist too 🙂 lol Good idea. Thanks for liking my post!!

Leave a Reply

