And the wind began to twitch…


When I was little, my grandma was completely terrified of storms. We lived in a small trailer and we would always have to go to her house. A long time ago, when we had a hurricane hit Georgia, we went to her house, and was forced to get in the closet. The wind was whipping, and the power was flickering. I have to admit it was terrifying. Every since then, I catch myself doing the same thing. I will start getting my wind chims and hammocks and plants inside and watch the weather, turn off everything in my house, call family, and completely freak myself out about the weather. While outside, I watch the clouds and listen for any kind of roaring. I have never been in a tornado so I really do not know what to listen for, but I try my best. If something is coming our way, I want to know in advance and not be surprised. My family calls me their Meteorologist.

It has always been a dream for me to go to the flatland’s and storm chase. I want someone to photography me in front of a tornado. The tornado being far back in the field though. It will happen one day.Sure, I will be scared, but it will be so worth it.

I’m sure I have left a imprint on my friends lives. Every time it thunders, I’m sure they think of me..or wait for my phone call. -lol-

Here is a few pictures of today’s wall cloud. Yes, I was freaked out!

The side yard.

The back yard.

12 thoughts on “And the wind began to twitch…

  1. Your post brought up a lot of memories for me. While I have no desire to be a storm chaser, I do enjoy the mild T-storms we get here in Oregon!

    However, regarding having an escape route, take heed. One night a few years ago, my husband and I heard a roaring noise and looked outside to see what it was – truck? plane? No, it was a mini-tornado and we had to struggle to GET BACK inside! The change in pressure was forcing our door closed with us on the outside! We thought Oregon didn’t have tornados. Wrong! http://www.tornadohistoryproject.com/tornado/Oregon
    In 60 years we had 101 tornadoes with six fatalities.

  2. Seriously! I have always wanted to become a stormchaser! I will never be one.
    But tornado’s are so cool! I mean, it’s sad when people die because of it, no doubt. Other than that, they are the coolest thing ever!

  3. I have a couple of friends who are meteorologist and love to chase storms! Not me!!!! I definitely understand though, when the tornado’s whipped through Alabama in April, I was standing outside to see if I could see it! It actually hovered over my little town of Alabaster but didnt touch down. Needless to say, I didnt remain outside for that one!!!!!

  4. My mother used to make us run around the house covering up every mirror with bedsheets when a thunderstorm was imminent. I have no idea why she did that but I think of it everytime I hear thunder. Lightening I can do without (unless I can catch one on my camera one day) but I love the big boomers that rattle the house.

  5. Wow, do I relate!
    I have a tornado phobia, which has turned me into an amateur meterologist and first-rate weather junkie.
    But I have no wish to storm chase — even though I watch their videos on Youtube!

  6. She really has left a place in my heart or cell phone! lol! But in a weird sense I feel better, peace when she calls about the weather. It is good to know someone is looking out for you, not just from your God above, but a best friend and family.

  7. I like your remark about imprinting your family and friends so every storm they think of you ! Am sure that is true ☺.
    Having lived in the midwest and actually seeing tornados, my suggestion is that they be very far in the distance if you insist on the photograph!
    Thank you for sharing.
    Siggi on the coast of Maine.

Leave a Reply

